Tom Latham scored 104 off 111 balls as New Zealand set a winning score of 344-6
Tri-Nation Series, Malahide, Dublin:
New Zealand 344-6 (50 overs): Latham 104, Taylor 57, Munro 44
Ireland 154 all out (39.3 overs): Porterfield 48, Wilson 30; Henry 3-36, Anderson 2-15, Kuggeleijn 2-17
New Zealand won by 190 runs

Skipper Tom Latham plundered a century as New Zealand crushed Ireland by 190 runs in Dublin to secure victory in the Tri-Nations series.

Latham’s 104 from 111 balls provided the foundation for the Black Caps as they powered to 344-6 off 50 overs.

Despite William Porterfield’s 48, Ireland could only manage 154 in reply off 39.3 overs as they ended their three-match campaign without a win.

New Zealand have beaten Ireland twice and Bangladesh once to win the series.

New Zealand and Bangladesh will meet again in the final game of the tournament at Clontarf on Wednesday.

Latham’s innings eventually came to an end when he was stumped by Niall O’Brien off the bowling of George Dockrell.

However, it was a belligerent 44 from just 15 balls, including four sixes and three fours, from Colin Munro which helped push the total out of Ireland’s reach as New Zealand blasted 72 runs from the last four overs.

Ireland’s reply got off to a shaky start when they lost opener Paul Stirling in the third over with just a single run on the board, and although captain Porterfield steadied the ship, only he and Gary Wilson made it past 20.

Matt Henry, who was ably assisted by Corey Anderson and Scott Kuggeleijn with two wickets apiece, took 3-36.

This was another untimely Irish display with the game’s bosses set to decide on their possible Test status next month.

Ireland had been competitive for much of last weekend’s encounter with the New Zealanders, but this reverse will pile further pressure on coach John Bracewell and his struggling side, who subsequently went down by eight wickets to Bangladesh with 22.5 overs to spare.

Ireland are next in action in an Intercontinental Cup tie against the Netherlands at Malahide in August.

12 May Ire v Ban – no result Malahide
14 May Ire v NZ – New Zealand won by 51 runs Malahide
17 May Ban v NZ – New Zealand won by 4 wickets Clontarf
19 May Ire v Ban – Bangladesh won by 8 wickets Malahide
21 May Ire v NZ – New Zealand won by 190 runs Malahide
24 May Bangladesh v New Zealand Clontarf


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here